Been places and seen things

Yet there was always in me, even when I was very small, the sense that I ought to be somewhere else. And wander I did, although, in my everyday life, I had nowhere to go and no imaginable reason on earth why I should want to leave. The buses took to the interstate without me, the trains sped by. So I wandered the world through books. I went to Victorian England in the pages of ‘Middlemarch’ and ‘A little Princess’, and to Saint Petersburg before the fall of the tsar with ‘Anna Karenina’. I went to Tara, and Manderley, and Thornfield Hall, all those great houses, with their high ceilings and high drama, as I read ‘Gone with the Wind’, ‘Rebecca’ and ‘Jane Eyre’.”
Anna Quindlen, How Reading Changed My Life

Museums are  is the perfect place to visit for art lovers but I draw my love for them from books. From high-rising walls stretching up to the geometric patterned ceiling and the towering ivory pillars, the mere existence of the museum is appalling. It brings to realization that the world is bigger than human beings yet it is the product of the human mind. Then there’s the art consisting of perfect key strokes and shades of colors on canvas telling 1000 stories-subject to interpretation.

I love art. I’m no Neal Caffrey but I am one of those ‘weird’ people who see more than colors splashed on canvas. What I loved most about museums are the marble floors and the elegance it spurs (and all the marble-floor-lovers squeal in delight) . The combination of the walls ceiling and floors makes you want to just lie there making snow angels-Without snow of course ;). I have always been artsy, come to think of it but after reading Barbara Taylor Bradford‘s Playing the Game oh combined with Neal Caffrey’s charm 😉 I got a better appreciation for art.

Reading books is like penetrating someone’s mind, understanding their thought patterns, emotions and intellect. It stimulates the mind enough to sample the world’s finest cuisines, art and relish the African sunset. Like fine marble floors, our minds need polishing when it comes to knowledge and what better way to do than through books?

Keep turning the pages 🙂

Leave a Reply

